Visit The Brewery on May 16th and receive 10% discount on food and drinks.
The Sweetwater Brewing Company, originally called the Green River Brewery, opened in 1872 by Adam Braun. It is one of the first breweries in Wyoming Territory. Karl Spinner purchased the business in 1880 and sold it to Hugo Gaensslen 12 years later. His brother, Emil, also helped operate the business.
In 1899, Hugo took out a loan to demolish the old structure and rebuild the brewery with sandstone blocks. The building design was inspired by German architecture and the Chicago Water Tower, as well as places where the Gaensslen family immigrated from.
In 1904 and 1905, the Sweetwater Brewing Company won bronze medals at the World’s Fair. When Prohibition was in effect, the business became the Sweetwater Beverage Company and unfortunately did not bounce back after the repeal of Prohibition and as a result it closed in 1931 and after Hugo’s death.
Since 1931, ownership of the building passed through several hands. Unfortunately, two-thirds of the original building was demolished, leaving only the office and administration part of the original brewery. The remaining portion of the building was renovated in 1976 and now operates as a restaurant and bar called The Brewery, which is an homage to the building’s rich history.